2005 Evernham Motorsports
Ray Evernham Bio

Ray Evernham
When Ray Evernham, president and CEO, founded Evernham Motorsports in 1999, the mission was to lead Dodge back into prominence in NASCAR's elite racing series and field two competitive teams. For the fith consecutive year, a Dodge Dealers/UAW Dodge from Evernham Motorsports visited victory lane in 2005, a testament to the success of the organization in achieving its mission.

Today, with the backing of nearly 3,000 Dodge Dealers and the Chrysler Group's performance brand Dodge, Evernham is in his fifth season at the helm of one of NASCAR's premier racing organization, fielding cars in both the Nextel Cup Series and Busch Series, as well as in the ARCA, USAC and Dodge Weekly Racing series. With more than 250 employees and three separate facilities plus a fourth under construction, the Evernham Motorsports empire has grown dramatically from its early days, all under his steady guidance and leadership.

Technology and innovation are the foundation of Evernham's success. Evernham Motorsports now designs and produces its own chassis for NASCAR competition. Its engine program has proven both powerful and reliable, and in 2005, other Dodge teams will rely on the dependable Evernham Motorsports engines.

A former modified driver, Evernham found success in NASCAR racing when he forged a partnership with a young driver from the open-wheel ranks named Jeff Gordon. Under Evernham's leadership and meticulous attention to detail, the duo won 47 NASCAR Winston Cup races and three Winston Cup championships. The wins included two Daytona 500s and the inaugural Brickyard 400.
Ray Evernham and Jeremy Mayfield

Still, Evernham's greatest challenge was ahead. In 1999, Dodge offered Evernham the task of leading Dodge's return to NASCAR Winston Cup racing after a 20-year absence and do it in 500 days. He accepted the challenge, building the foundation for a winning organization from the ground up with the same determination and passion that characterized his approach to racing since his early modified days. Guiding the process was Evernham's self-prescribed “20 Points for Success”.

Entering his fifth season overseeing the operation of his race teams, Evernham's lineup includes veteran driver Jeremy Mayfield in the No. 19 Dodge Dealers/UAW Dodge and 2004 Raybestos Rookie-of-the-Year Kasey Kahne in the No. 9 Dodge Dealers/UAW Dodge running the full Nextel Cup schedule. Legendary driver Bill Elliott will be in the No. 91 Dodge presented by Stanley/AutoValue Bumper-to-Bumper/Visteon Dodge at selected events. The No. 6 Hungry Drivers' Dodge will run the full NASCAR Busch Series schedule with Paul Wolfe and the No. 79 AutoValue Bumper-to-Bumper/Trus-Joist Dodge will run a limited schedule.
Evernham also is promoting diversity in the sport. He signed sprint-car star Erin Crocker to a development deal that will have the talented female driver in selected NASCAR Busch Series events as well as Silver Crown and ARCA competition. He also signed Tommy Lane to drive at least 18 races in the Late Model Stock Division at Hickory Motor Speedway this season as part of NASCAR's Drive for Diversity Program.

  • In the 2004 NASCAR Nextel Cup season, Evernham's teams scored one victory (Mayfield at Richmond), 18 top-five and 28 top-10 finishes. The No. 9 Dodge Dealers/UAW Dodge and No. 19 Dodge Dealers/UAW Dodge combined for an Evernham Motorsports team-high six poles.
  • For the fourth consecutive year, an Evernham Dodge Dealers/UAW Dodge visited victory lane.
  • In 2004, Evernham Motorsports claimed both a spot in the inaugural Chase for the Nextel Cup (Mayfield) and the Raybestos Rookie-of-the-Year title (Kahne).
  • In 2003, Evernham teams scored 13 top-five and 24 top-10 finishes. Evernham scored his eighth pole as a team owner with Jeremy Mayfield in April at Talladega.
  • In 2002, Evernham's teams earned two wins, including the prestigious Brickyard 400, four poles, eight top-five and 17 top-10 finishes. Evernham also scored a non-points win and the pole in the 2002 Winston Open with Jeremy Mayfield.
  • Evernham has amassed five victories, 14 poles, 45 top-five and 81 top-10 finishes as a team owner.*
  • First NASCAR Winston Cup Series win for Evernham Motorsports: 2001 race at Homestead-Miami Speedway with Elliott.
  • NASCAR Winston Cup Scene “Crew Chief of the Decade”.
  • Three-Time NASCAR Winston Cup Champion (1995, 1997, 1998).
  • 116 top-five finishes(53.7% of the time finished in the top-5), 216 starts, and 47 wins in the Winston Cup Series prior to becoming a team owner.
  • Won 47 races in the Winston Cup Series prior to becoming a team owner.
  • NASCAR Winston Cup Illustrated “Person of the Year” (1999).
  • Built and drove Modified Division cars from 1979 through 1983 and again in 1991.
  • In 1983, helped bring the IROC Series back to the track after a three-year absence.
*Includes the three Winston Cup races run by Casey Atwood in 2000.

Back to Top